The race begins

CEO and initiator of Red Dot Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

CEO and initiator of Red Dot Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

Red Dot jurors for design concept

Red Dot jurors for design concept

Red Dot Design Award for design concept awarding ceremony in Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

In his conclusion honouring the winning works of 2017’s Red Dot Award: Design Concept, Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, initiator and CEO of Red Dot stated, “Fast-evolving tools and constantly changing demands make it almost impossible to predict the future. Nevertheless, there are some people who have made it their business to shape the world of tomorrow and to improve people’s lives: designers and creatives.”

On 2 January 2018, the award welcomes more designers and creatives with the desire and drive to shape the world of tomorrow to enter their latest visions, ideas, prototypes, and design concepts to this year’s Red Dot Award: Design Concept.

Open to designers, design teams, design studios, product companies, and universities, the award began as an outlet for design teams and designers to showcase their latest research without customer constraints. Today, it has matured into the largest and most prestigious international award for design concepts at a professional level.

More than a platform for innovation, winning designers will be able to leverage on the Red Dot to provide an indication on the marketability of future products, provide clients with an established mark of a studio’s design capabilities, benchmark a team’s creative competencies.

The submission period breaks down into three different phases: “Early” from 2 to 31 January 2018, “Standard” from 1 February to 21 March 2018 and “Late” from 22 March to 16 May 2018. At the Early and Standard submission phases, entries can be submitted in 4 languages, English, German, Chinese and Korean. Jury who are native speakers of the languages, English, Chinese, German, and Korean are organised into language groups to evaluate each entry, offering a more equitable platform to compete for the award.

The jury of the Red Dot Award: Design Concept hail from different parts of the world providing their own cultural context tempered with their own experiences to provide fair and balanced judgement. To further an unbiased environment, entries presented to the jury are without name, picture or corporate logo of the designers. Every jury member pledges to a Code of Honour and is excluded from taking part in the competition. In addition, to avoid conflicts of interest, the jurors may not be employees of the manufacturing industry. This ensures the highest degree of objectivity when selecting the winning designs.

The awarding ceremony for the winning designers will take place on 27 September 2018, in Singapore next to the newly opened Red Dot Design Museum in the spectacular Marina Bay district.

Submission phases for the Red Dot Award: Design Concept 2018
Early: 2 – 31 January 2018
Standard: 2 February – 21 March 2018
Late: 22 March – 16 May 2018

Further dates
Jury session: June 2018
Red Dot Awarding Ceremony: 28 September 2018

赛事启动

CEO and initiator of Red Dot Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

CEO and initiator of Red Dot Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

Red Dot jurors for design concept

Red Dot jurors for design concept

Red Dot Design Award for design concept awarding ceremony in Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

Winning design concepts exhibited at the Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

在向2017年红点设计概念大奖获奖者表示祝贺时,红点设计大奖创始人兼CEO彼得·扎克教授博士总结道:“日新月异的各类工具、不断变化的需求让预测未来变得难上加难。尽管如此,仍然有一些人通过自己的工作和努力在塑造未来,改善人们的生活,他们就是:设计师和创意产业的工作者。”

2018年1月2日,红点设计概念大奖热诚欢迎有志于塑造未来的设计师和创意产业的工作者们,递交他们最新的创意、理念、原型和设计概念。

大奖面向设计师、设计团队、设计工作室、产品公司和大学开放,最初旨在为设计师和设计团队自由展现最新研究成果搭建一座平台,现如今,它已成为全球规模最大、最负盛名的设计概念专业级赛事。

除了为设计师们提供了一个创新平台,获奖者还能借助红点,彰显未来产品的市场潜力,向客户证明设计工作室的设计实力,并检验团队的创意能力。

报奖共分为三个阶段:2018年1月2日-31日为“早鸟”(抢先)报名阶段、2018年2月1日-3月21日为常规报名阶段,2018年3月22日-5月16日为追加报名阶段。在早鸟和常规报名阶段,作品可以用4种语言递交申请,即英语、德语、汉语和韩语。以英语、德语、汉语和韩语为母语的评审按照语言类别分组,就报奖作品加以评审,进而为报奖者打造一个更加公平公正的赛事。

红点设计大奖汇聚了来自世界各地的评审,他们凭借自身经验,结合各自的文化背景,为大赛提供了公平、平衡的评审。为了进一步提升公平公正的评审氛围,所有报奖作品在递交到评审手中时,不包含设计师的名字、图片或者相应企业的Logo。所有评委都庄重宣誓,严格遵守评审诚信守则,且自身不参与竞赛。此外,为了避免利益冲突,评审也不能受雇于制造行业的公司。这将确保评审们会用最客观的态度来遴选获奖作品。

2018年红点设计概念大奖的颁奖典礼将于2018年9月27日在新加坡新开张的红点博物馆附近,美不胜收的滨海湾举行。

2018年红点设计概念大奖的报奖阶段:
早鸟报名阶段:2018年1月2日-31日
常规报名阶段:2018年2月1日-3月21日,
追加报名阶段:2018年3月22日-5月16日

后续时间节点
评审环节:2018年6月
红点设计概念大奖颁奖典礼:2018年9月28日